Home > Ideas, Software, Tips > Evernote it!

Evernote it!

evernote

I’ve started thinking about how I’m going to organise my teaching this year, and more importantly, how I’m going to ask the students to organise their learning, considering the swag of options available in the 1-1 classroom.

I’ve talked about OneNote before. It’s part of the Microsoft suite, and has been my mainstay teaching and organising tool for the last couple of years, replacing the bazilliions of separate Word documents as well as replacing PowerPoint for me, all at the same time. I set up a Notebook for my Literature teaching and have sections for each section of the course, and a page for each lesson in the year. All organised!

And I still like it, but Evernote is a pretty powerful FREE substitute that’s improving all the time and available in all platforms, including apple mac. I

Below is what it looks like on my Mac at home. You can have as many separate notebooks as you like each notebook contains notes that may be text, images or both. Stacks are new and they are like folders with notebooks inside them. The new stacks make it much more flexible for a learning tool. Consider a STACK for Literature, with a separate notebook for each core text or section of the course? You got it. All completely searchable (including images) as well as available from any computer anywhere and on your iphone as well.

I’ve heard reservations about putting all  your stuf in the ‘cloud’ but Evernote has a desktop app that works offline and keeps your data on your own machine, which it syncs with the web.

Below is how it looks when you open up the Iphone app.(from UK blog ZATH, who give it a pretty good review too.)

So, you have your notes on your laptop, your ipad, your desktop and your iphone. Pretty powerful possibilities!

 

 

  1. January 13, 2011 at 9:26 pm | #1

    A day after I blogged on this I saw this article on tips for teachers using Evernote. Teacher focusesd, but still some useful tips: http://blog.evernote.com/2011/01/13/10-tips-for-teachers-using-evernote-education-series/

  2. aunttammie
    January 29, 2011 at 7:32 pm | #2

    I just started using Evernote, and it looks great, but I can’t find out anything about using “stacks.” I don’t see anything in the app that refers to that, and although I’ve read a few blog posts like this one that mention them, I can’t seem to find instructions on how to create them. Can you point me in the right direction? Thanks!

  3. January 30, 2011 at 12:31 am | #3

    Sure, make sure you’ve got the latest version (and it’s gotta be the desktop version, not the online one) and just drag an existing notebook on to another. Then rename as ‘something Stack’. So, I have a ‘Stack’ called ‘Teaching’ and a separate Notebook in that stack for each class.

    It’s explained here:

    http://blog.evernote.com/2010/12/01/evernote-beta-for-mac-gets-sharing-and-notebook-stacks/

    Create a Notebook Stack
    Creating Notebook Stacks is easy. Either drag and drop one notebook onto another to create a stack or CMD+click on a notebook and choose Add to Stack. Stacks are synced to your account, so as soon as they’re available in the other versions of Evernote, you’ll be able to see them everywhere. For now, stacks will only show up in this Mac beta.

    Tip: Your local computer remembers which stacks you’ve left opened or closed, so you can leave a stack called “Work” open on your work machine and a stack called “Home” open… you see where this is going.

  4. shannon
    February 8, 2011 at 6:29 pm | #4

    Thank you so much! I love the stacks. I have used EN for awhile now but have wanted a function like this one, and didn’t even know that it exists!

  5. Sharon
    February 27, 2012 at 7:33 pm | #5

    I’ve been using the online version of Evernote on my PC and iPad. Does use of the online version preclude use of the desktop version? I’m not clear whether I can do both, and how does syncing between devices work then?

  6. February 28, 2012 at 12:48 am | #6

    Hi Sharon; yes the desktop version works beautifully with the online versions. In fact, that’s pretty much the main place I enter information, using the desktop and then accessing the information via the iPad and iPhone, which is great. We just introduced an iPad trial at school and decided that Evernote is pretty much the most foolproof way to get stuff across the various devices.

  7. July 15, 2013 at 8:05 am | #7

    Good way of describing, and good post to take data regarding my presentation focus,
    which i am going to convey in college.

  1. January 13, 2011 at 8:49 pm | #1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

